Designing for Myself 2

I finished my “Save the Dates” a while ago. Had them printed online as a postcard with a glossy side and a b/w matte side. With online printing, my choice of paper was limited, especially when trying to stay within my budget. To keep the rustic feel, I added a fibrous paper texture to the design. It turned out ok, but of course, if I had an unlimited budget I would’ve been making a fantastic paper selection and sending my files off to a letterpress printer to get the “bite” and personal satisfaction of sending out little works of art. It is, however, JUST a Save the Date… and staying within budget wins the day.

Front, Glossy side

Back side, Color. Printed it in BW

All the other stationery will be printed eventually. I found the paper that I want to use for most of it! It’s made of recycled beer bottle labels, and comes in colors coinciding with beers: Weizen (off-white), Pils (dark yellow), and Bock (earthy brown) are the three colors I selected to start messing around with. I had bought the swatch book from the manufacturer and found a seller in London to buy some pricey (ouch) sample sheets. Eventually I will order paper from the manufacturer and hopefully stay within that buzz kill budget.

This entry was posted in Graphic Design, Illustration, My Designs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Designing for Myself 2

  1. LOVE your Save The Dates (and the requests for bridesmaids and groomsmen)! Your work is so fun and fresh!!

    Kate
    illustratekate.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

